Feature

155 Things To Do This Year

We don’t want to hear you say there’s nothing to do around here ever again. C’mon folks, we live in Colorado—there’s loads of great stuff to experience all year long. So, pull out your calendar and find a permanent marker. From must-see concerts and summer festivals to sporting events and holiday activities, we’ve got you scheduled for fun throughout 2012.

January 2012

 

April

04.01

NCAA Women’s Final Four. // April 1 and 3, game times vary, Pepsi Center, ncaa.com, ticket prices vary.

04.03

The Beach at A-Basin. A-Basin takes spring skiing to a different level with the Beach, a parking lot turned beach party at the resort’s base. // Most lifts run from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Arapahoe Basin, arapahoebasin.com, $175 for a spot on the Beach (two parking spots and a picnic table).

04.05

Taste of Vail. Check out interactive seminars, wine tastings, cooking competitions, showcase dinners, and a mountaintop picnic. // April 5 to 7, event times, costs, and venues vary, tasteofvail.com.

04.06

Mercury Cafe: Open Poetry Reading. Feed your creative side during National Poetry Month. // 10 p.m., Mercury Cafe, mercurycafe.com, free.

04.07

Bunny Trail EggVenture. The Children’s Museum celebrates springtime with “eggsploration” stations, tasty treats, and story time with the Big Bunny. // 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., The Children’s Museum of Denver, mychildsmuseum.org, ages 2–59: $8; seniors: $6; kids under age 1: $6.

04.08

Bela Fleck and the Flecktones. // 8 p.m., Odgen Theatre, ogdentheater.net, $35 to $45.

04.09

Colorado Rockies Home Opener. // 2:10 p.m., Coors Field, http://colorado.rockies.mlb.com, ticket prices vary.

04.14

Colorado Mammoth vs. Toronto Rock. // 7 p.m., Pepsi Center—HealthOne Field, coloradomammoth.com, ticket prices vary.

04.15

100th Anniversary of the Sinking of the Titanic. In honor of the anniversary, visit the Molly Brown House Museum. // Sunday hours: First tour begins at noon, last tour begins at 3:30 p.m., Molly Brown House Museum, mollybrown.org; adults: $8; seniors: $6; kids: $4.

04.17

Tax Day. Make sure you’ve filed and then head to McCormick’s for Denver’s cheapest happy hour, with menu items ranging from $1.95 to $4.95. // 3 to 6 p.m., McCormick’s Fish House & Bar, mccormickandschmicks.com

04.21

Bobby Slayton. You’ll recognize this brazen comedian’s voice from Family Guy. // 8:30 p.m., Comedy Works (Larimer Square), comedyworks.com, $25.

04.22

Rocky Mountain Bridal Show. // 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., Colorado Convention Center, rockymtnbridalshow.com, $10.

04.25

Read My Pins: The Madeleine Albright Collection. Featuring more than 200 pins from the personal collection of the former secretary of state. // April 15 to June 17, hours vary throughout the week, Denver Art Museum, denverartmuseum.org; adults: $10; seniors/students: $8; kids: $3.

04.27

Tour of Stranahan’s Colorado Whiskey Distillery. Watch— and taste—one of the country’s most sought-after spirits before it heads to the liquor store. // 11 a.m.; 1 p.m.; 3 p.m.; 5 p.m., Stranahan's, stranahans.com, free.

Pages