The Local newsletter is your free, daily guide to life in Colorado. For locals, by locals. Sign up today!
We all despise that tiny, terrible envelope tucked under our car’s wiper blade. But under former Libertarian presidential candidate Steve Kerbel’s Stop the Shakedowns proposal—currently gathering signatures for inclusion on Colorado’s 2018 ballot—city governments would no longer collect traffic fees. Instead, Coloradans would donate their fine to the charity of their choice. That might take some of the sting out of a $50 speeding ticket. Knowing what it costs elsewhere? Maybe, maybe not.
Here’s a breakdown of other cities’ and states’ maddening (or gladdening) ticket fees.
- Where to Find Denver’s Best Pizza
- The Father-Son Duo Behind The Brown Palace’s Champagne Cascade
- Where International Avalanche Players Eat In Denver
- Who Will Replace Hickenlooper As Colorado’s Governor?
- 7 New Reasons to Head to the Mountains this Ski Season
- Neptune Mountaineering Undergoes Big Renovation
- How to Navigate Flying During the Holiday Season
Colorado Springs: $10—$190
Fees depend on infraction severity; price ranges are for non–school zone and non–construction zone infractions, which are usually doubled.
Running a Red Light
Following Too Closely
Jefferson County: $110
Driving Without A Seat Belt
Casper, Wyoming: $35
Salt Lake City: $45
Texting While Driving
Colorado: $300 (Only applies to texters driving in a “careless and imprudent manner”)
Arizona: $0 (There is no statewide ban on texting while driving in Arizona, but new drivers under 18 can be fined $75 if they commit the offense within their first six months.)
New Mexico: $25
Reckless Driving (First Offense)
Colorado: Up to $300
Kansas: Up to $500
Nebraska: Up to $500
Wyoming: Up to $750
Parking At An Expired Meter
Colorado Springs: $20
Not behind the wheel? You can still get hit with a ticket.
Riding a bike on a sidewalk (Colorado Springs): $50
Using a vehicle as a residence (Boulder): $100
Throwing snowballs at cars, people, or buildings (Aspen): $100