Governor Hickenlooper has until Thursday to name a new justice to the Colorado Supreme Court. (The vacancy is created by Justice Alex J. Martinez, who is leaving to become Denver’s Manager of Safety.) On October 13, Hickenlooper received a list of three finalists from the Supreme Court Nominating Commission. He interviewed the candidates Friday, and Lt. Governor Joe Garcia will interview them today. We looked through their applications to give you some insight into their qualifications and personal lives.

Brian Boatright, Arvada: A graduate of the University of Denver, Boatright currently serves as a district court judge in Jefferson County, where he has jurisdiction over all juvenile matters. He is married and has two children, a son and a daughter. Boatright likes to read the same books his kids are reading, so they can discuss the stories as a family. He is an active member of his church (he’s an usher at St. Joseph’s) and recently read Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink.

Frederick Martinez, Castle Pines: Martinez went to law school at the University of Colorado, and currently works at Denver’s Hall & Evans law firm. Martinez’s focus is defense litigation of individuals, professionals, and transportation corporations. He coached youth soccer for several years and has volunteered with the Denver Rescue Mission. A lifelong runner, Martinez was the captain of his high school cross country team, and is now a dedicated yoga practitioner. He has a wife, son, daughter, and an Australian shepherd named Luna.

Patrick O’Rourke, Highlands Ranch: In his role as head litigation attorney for the University of Colorado, O’Rourke is responsible for the defense of all litigation brought against the university. He attended Georgetown University Law Center, and is an avid reader. He has a wife, son, and daughter, and enjoys taking mini-vacations around Colorado with his family. In his free time, O’Rourke likes skiing and bike riding.

The new justice will hold office for a provisional term of two years. After that, he will be eligible for a ten-year term, if retained in a statewide election.